Christmas arrangements

Our phone lines and administrative offices are closed from 1pm on Friday 24 December, re-opening on Tuesday 4 January 2022. Listed below you can find a bin collection timetable, opening hours of our markets, and how to report stray dogs and a homeless emergency issue.

Stray Dogs

Report a stray dogs issue.

Homeless emergency

If you are homeless owing to an emergency situation, outside of office hours or at the weekend, please call Derbyshire County Council for advice and assistance - telephone 08456 058 058 or 01629 532600. More about homelessness.

Waste & Recycling

The details of which containers to put out can be found using our 'when is my collection?' search facility.

Usual day  CHRISTMAS/NEW YEAR collection days 
Monday  Mon 27 Dec
 Mon 3 Jan
Tuesday  Tue 28 Dec
 Tue 4 Jan
Wednesday  Wed 29 Dec
 Wed 5 Jan
Thursday  Thu 30 Dec
 Thu 6 Jan
Friday  Fri 31 Dec
 Fri 7 Jan

Please note we are not able to collect any additional household waste so please make sure all your household waste is contained in your grey bin (with the lid shut) or in four black standard sized sacks if you are on a sack collection.Garden waste collections will be suspended from Monday 20 December to Friday 31 January inclusive.

Matlock Town Hall reception

Phonelines at the Town Hall will close from the afternoon of Friday 24 December and re-open on Tuesday 4 January.

Markets

 Date  Market  
 Tues 21 December  Wirksworth  OPEN
 Thurs 23 December  Ashbourne  OPEN
 Mon 27 December  Bakewell  CLOSED
 Tues 29 December  Wirksworth  CLOSED
 Thurs 30 December  Ashbourne  CLOSED
 Mon 3 January  Bakewell  OPEN
 Tues 4 January  Wirksworth  CLOSED

FREE parking!

Don't forget it's free to park in any District Council car park after 2pm throughout December. 

Our phone lines are closed from 12 noon on Thursday 24 December, re-opening on Monday 4 January 2021

Find us on Facebook

 
 

Follow us on Twitter