Air Quality Management Areas

All local authorities are required to assess air quality in their areas. An Air Quality Management Area must be declared if pollutant concentrations are identified as exceeding, or likely to exceed, air quality objectives set out in The Air Quality Standards (England) Regulations 2007 and prescribed for Local Air Quality Management. These objectives must be met in any outdoor location where members of the public (receptors) are likely to be present.

At the current time 235 local authorities have declared Air Quality Management Areas, mostly for NO2 and PM10 from traffic sources. The number of Air Quality Management Areas will change through time as new areas are declared and existing areas are revoked when pollutant concentrations are no longer being exceeded.

There are currently seven Air Quality Management Areas within the County of Derbyshire, of which six have been declared in relation to traffic pollution and one in relation to industrial emissions.

The procedures that must be followed when investigating a likely breach of an air quality objective and when declaring an Air Quality Management Area are detailed in Technical Guidance LAQM.TG(16).